Yellow fever vaccination warning for durban

Yellow Fever Warning

When planning your next holiday, please make sure that you have read all the health entry requirements for your intended destination. Due to the high incidents of yellow fever and other infectious illnesses, the Department of Home Affairs (DHA) South Africa has introduced a strict programme to control the importation of these diseases. Warnings have been issued to all border officials and foreign affairs missions to enforce stricter control.

According to International Health Regulations, a valid yellow fever certificate is required for all passengers over the age of one, arriving in or from a yellow fever infected area. Passengers who are unable to produce a valid certificate of vaccination on arrival in South Africa will either be placed under quarantine or refused entry into South Africa. Please note; passengers in transit in Dakar (not leaving the aircraft), do not require a certificate.

Infected Areas

It is always advisable to ensure that your yellow fever vaccination certificate is up-to-date and valid before travelling to, via or from any of these countries:

Angola, Equatorial Guinea, Panama, Argentina, Ethiopia, Paraguay, Benin, French Guiana, Peru, Bolivia, Gabon, Rwanda, Brazil, Gambia, Sao Tome & Principe, Burkina Faso, Ghana, Senegal, Burundi, Guinea, Sierra Leone, Cameroon, Guinea Bissau, Somalia, Central African Rep., Guyana, Sudan, Chad, Kenya, Suriname, Colombia, Liberia, Tanzania, Congo, Mali, Togo, Cote d’Ivoire, Mauritania, Trinidad and Tobago, Dem. Rep. of Congo (DRC), Niger, Uganda, Ecuador, Nigeria, Venezuela,

Here are the requirements for Yellow ever vaccination to get into South Africa:

“Effective October 1, 2011, proof of yellow fever vaccination is required for all travelers ≥ 1 year of age if traveling from or transiting through (regardless of the amount of time spent at the airport) a country with risk of YFV transmissiona and the following countries with low potential for exposure to YFV: Sao Tomé and Principe, Somalia, Tanzania, and Zambia.

Travelers not meeting this requirement can be refused entry to South Africa or be quarantined for up to 6 days. Unvaccinated travelers with a valid medical waiver will be allowed entry.

(Updated September 1, 2011)”

Please Note: ” if traveling from or transiting through (regardless of the amount of time spent at the airport) a country with risk of YFV transmission

For more info:

Gallery | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s